So now I can’t stop drawing chickens and have come up with an alternative design that works, I think. Here are the new sketches…. First I drew a French blue chicken in pen and ink. I thought the shape and scruffiness was friendly. Then I had to re-learn how to make it transparent which You Tube is great for.

Then I played around with the angle of the chicken and decided that an acute angle gave it more dynamism and enlarging it beyond the egg shape more interesting and also captured the white of the French flag. But I didn’t feel the font was integrated with the image, so I searched for examples of French handwriting on the internet because it is quite distinctive and I thought this might give me some ideas about how to proceed. Then I tried to write in the style of a French restaurant blackboard. Not there yet!

